Graspop

Next week I will be at Graspop Metal Meting(GMM) in Belgium, for three days of brutal music. Played from 12 in the morning, until 1 or 2 in the night on five different stages. I hope to see at least 10 bands a day, maybe more, and enjoy being between some of the   friendliest people you can meet. Metal fans are very misunderstood in general. If you bump into somebody at GMM, you say sorry, and walk on. You might (positively) comment the other persons’s shirt if it is of a rare design, or an obscure band you also like…or you might say the code-word of the year (last year’s was: ‘Slayer!’. At any point of day or night, shouting this was not just acceptable, but would always be answered with a passionate response of: ‘Slayer!’. You had to be there to appreciate it probably…), and after that, you both walk on peacefully to enjoy some more music. And people wait in orderly lines at the food and beer stands. Okay, there are some exceptions, but in general, I feel extremely safe at those type of gatherings.
And I’m sorry, but that doesn’t seem to happen much at ‘mainstream’ festivals I visit. In general, people there are very rude in my humble metal eyes…and don’t give a damn about eachother.
I guess we experience so much violence through the music, that there is absolutely no need for it on the field. Except when you go into the circle pit, or wall of death. And that is a voluntary choice! And even there, when somebody falls, you pick them up. You keep each other safe.
So for todays’ Daily Prompt I tried to capture some of the feeling…if this poem scares or offends you, you probably should stay away from this music. We have our own sense of humor. It’s a metal thing.
If you get it, I have just one thing to say:
SLAYER!
(fistbumb & horns included.)

Would I give a damn
Or a skinny rat’s ass
If I could lead you
Into a black mass?

Would I love you
Violate you in the night
Polish you with blood
And make you my bride?

I hear cantations
The crowd is roaring
Oh, every day life
You are so fucking boring

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

