Lorelei

I’ve never been to Loch Ness. Yet. Or looked for a Yeti. It is a big world, and there is so much cool stuff out there. I’ll get around to those at some point.
I did however visit the Lorelei in St Goarshausen. She has many things going for her compared to a Yeti. Looks for one thing, but most of all location. She is closer to my home that the Yeti, or Loch Ness, so a couple of years ago I took a train to Cologne, and cycled some days along the Rhine until I reached her.
After pitching my tent I went for some supplies in a local supermarket, cause if one has a chance to spend some time with a mythical beauty, that is rumored to have sunk hundreds of ships with her sweet songs…you have to have a drink with her. That seemed to be the right way to approach one of the ultimate Femme Fatales in history anyway.
A beer seemed not refined enough for the occasion, however suited a beer always is when one is in Germany. However a complete bottle of Champagne or Sekt (the German sparkling wine) was also not the smart choice. After cycling all day, and getting a good amount of sunburn, I probably would have troubles finding the campsite again after downing a bottle on my own, and to pour some of it in the river would be lovely dramatic, but a waist I was not willing to indulge in. But they sold mini bottles of Sekt, so with one of those in my little backpack, I went of to see the Lady!
Lorelei lives on a little land arm that sticks into the river, so you reach her via a small rocky path through the bushes.
But she is worth it. I popped my little bottle, and drank to her, her beauty and her legend. A little dramatic maybe, but is was fun to sit at the foot of the statue, and drink my sekt, looking at the river, the setting sun, and see the light change while it was getting darker. I even allowed myself some mild criticism at he statue, because if you look at it with a sunburnt, sekt drinking eye, she does have weird breasts. Not very natural. A bit of a disappointment considering the legend and all…

Loreley_websize

Before it became completely dark I went back down the path, and started to feel uncomfortable. Like something was around me, or following me. Or maybe waiting for me. I walked as fast as I could without rising to trip on the uneven path. Or admitting to myself that it felt like there was some presence that I did not want to meet.
Out of the bushes, and cycling back to the campsite, I was making fun of myself.
And decided never to make fun of Lorelei ever again…

Just in case. And maybe take some flowers next time.

 

Aditional info:

Atlas Obscura on the statue

More Loreley, or Lorelei, however your liking…

This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

