Girl in Kimono

81

I have a slight obsession with the painter Van Gogh, and like him, I really love Japanese art, and especially the woodcuts from artists like Hiroshige. So I try sometimes to paint with my tablet in my own limited way. This is a sketch from a couple of years ago, but I still like it. I think I became a better painter by now…but the atmosphere is good.

It is totally not Japanese of course, it is still a very Western interpretation, but I hope viewers will judge it for what it is…on it’s own merits or faults.

And if I was mistaken, and the proper name for this garment is not a kimono…then I will be happy to discover the right name. Japan is like a treasure cave, you can never really know what it is, but it is full of wonderful discoveries!

Image | This entry was posted in Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

